MY FATHER’S FIFTIETH BIRTHDAY PART TWO

I wake up at eight in the morning to feed my daughter and remember how imprudent I have been not mentioning my mother that a seventeen year old baby requires the same attention as Michael Jackson, therefore I am not in physical or mental conditions to be part of this project because all my time outside the factory I am a father.

Monday December 19th

I abandoned my house in the afternoon with the same guilt as those parents who were just going to buy some cigarettes and never return home, but in my case I am going to the factory for our second meeting with JES and JPE. I find out they never received my email so all that desperate need for sending it to them has been just a severe hit to my body with the same benefits as drinking ten shots of vodka. Before the meeting my mother tried to contact me but all she could listened to where my insults for making me take this project. She tells me to cancel it, I supposedly say I will, but we both know that is not true.

The rules for this project are very simple: four intense days shooting places and interviews to reach the goal of forty eight hours of healthy editing. If we want to be more accurate we are not even talking about full days but a couple of hours in the afternoon. In the first minutes of the meeting I make one last attempt to sabotage this project or at least express myself in a hyper-realist picture of what awaits for us in the next days, but the director and editor ask me if they can begin to interview some of the associates. I bring them to an empty office to place their camera and I begin to write a list with all the people who I believe could provide us with accurate information about my father’s path as a impresario.

Leave a comment